On Losing Friends

Kelly Thomasson
6 min readMar 6, 2021
Photo by Devin Avery on Unsplash

I’m supposed to see my old best friend soon, and I’m not looking forward to it.

We’re not even hanging out — it’s only business.

It’s not like we had some disagreement or falling out; we just kind of stopped talking to each other.

Well, he stopped talking to me.

We were both always understanding of the other person taking a long time to return texts or calls (one of the many things I appreciated about our friendship), but after a while some of my texts wouldn’t even get a response, and none of my calls were being returned.

I asked him about it the last time I saw him, fighting back tears the whole time. He said he was just busy and he’s had a hard time keeping up with all of his friends.

But we’re all busy, aren’t we?

I had expected a change in the dynamic after he got a serious girlfriend and eventually married her, but we went from speaking less and less to not speaking at all. We went from having an evening reserved for hanging every week to knowing nothing about what is happening in each other’s lives, and I have no idea why it changed.

So, I don’t want to see him.

I can’t figure out exactly why I’m so apprehensive, but it got me thinking about some other close friends I’ve lost along the way without…

--

--

Kelly Thomasson

https://linktr.ee/Ineedfriends Host of I Need Friends. Not an expert on anything, just curious about everything. Sometimes serious, sometimes…not.